Vauxhall Mokka Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully picking my Mokka up next week which will be diesel.

I've heard many people say dont buy diesel from supermarket garages but was wondering if you guys have any thoughts? I've been using Morrisons petrol for 5 years without a problem but the stories do seem to be diesel related.

My dad has been running a diesel for about a year and uses Morrisons and hasnt had any issues. Whereas my father in law has stopped using Morissons diesel as he said it was causing his car to feel sluggish. He uses Esso now and no sluggish car.

Any thoughts?

Chris

·
Registered
600 Posts
There is no exact science to this . However, subjectively , have always felt that Morrison's fuel was somehow not as agreeable as other supermarket fuel . What we tend to do is use a branded fuel for a couple of tanks , then supermarket for the next 4-6 to take advantage of the additives in the fuel . The problem is that supermarkets stockpile fuel at a perceived market low price , thus they may well be sitting around for ages so having the potential for a few more nasties and some degradation . Of course if the fuel price is similar , then a branded fuel every time !!

·
Registered
182 Posts
Up here, B P esso etc can be as much as 5to 8 p per ltr more than supermarket pricesTo be quite honest I have never noticed the difference and feel ripped off the oddoccassion I am
forced to use branded fuel.
I thought it came from the same refinery anyway (Grangemouth) as during the refinery strikes, on the news, supermarket tankers were qued beside branded tankers in the same line.
Unless driving a high performance car Is there any differance?

Edited by: Hamish

·
Registered
38 Posts