Vauxhall Mokka Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just had my MOT and been told the pads were getting low on the front (no warning lights yet) they have quoted me £147.00 for the pads/fitting, their quote says 0.8hours labour.

A quick google suggests I can get decent pads for circa £45, so that makes less than 1-hours labour about £100.00 at a main dealer, this seems very high.

Does anybody have any suggestions for pad make, I looked at Ferodo, Brembo etc? As I said they seem to be around £45 for a set.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
When I worked as a mechanic Ferodo was the brand of choice but Mintex was the best seller due to price, but that was was decades ago and newer brands have come forward now.

·
Registered
125 Posts
There is no warning light for brake pads on a Mokka. Unless they changed the design in the last two years. Brake pads have a small metal tab which will contact the brake disc when pads wear down. You should hear a ringing or squealing noise. Attention required. I changed my front pads with Pagid. Circa £45 or less from Euro parts delivered to your home. About 1.5 hrs work for me but quite a bit less for a Vauxhall technician.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
When I worked as a mechanic Ferodo was the brand of choice but Mintex was the best seller due to price, but that was was decades ago and newer brands have come forward now.
Yes I agree, which is why I asked. The GM parts must be made by somebody else I thought someone might know.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5