Vauxhall Mokka Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the dealership doesn't know (no surprises there) I was wondering if anyone on here has experienced the same issue. I understand the brake regen is used to recharge the battery while slowing down or coasting downhill but it also appears to slow the car while driving. To explain: With brake regen on (B button) and I am driving up a gentle hill at a slow speed (10/20 mph) with the power indicator around 1 third of the way into the "eco" section and I turn the B regen off the car surges forward with no change in accelerator position. It feels driving with the handbrake on in an older car and then releasing it while driving. Does this mean the regen is working while the car is using power to drive the vehicle? I am no expert but this seems counterproductive - the brake regen slowing the car (and using extra power/battery) when driving slowly.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
710 Posts
Sounds just like the EVs at work the Nissans. Sounds like you need to learn about it yourself, so I’d just google it and read up. I turn it off when I want to go faster but then back on again when I’m on sites and in built up areas.

·
Administrator
10,547 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for this - a one line quote from the article: When you lift your foot off the accelerator pedal and onto the brake, the motor swaps directions and starts to put energy back into the battery.

My point is that the regen seems to be slowing the car even when needing the motor/battery to drive the car forward. My foot is still pressing on on the accelerator pedal and the regen is working against it.

Maybe there is some clever science behind it that this is the most efficient way that I simply don't know about.

Thanks for the link :)

·
Administrator
10,547 Posts