Vauxhall Mokka Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm not just new to the Mokka, I'm new to Vauxhall. In fact I've not ordered a car yet. I just lust after an SE Mokka in deep espresso with the saddle up interior. It's the engine I'd like to know more about. The 1.7 diesel is, I understand, quite an old design. I've seen some issues with fuel consumption not being what it should be for a modern engine. Is this true and what is the general reliability like?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Well mines done 3300 miles now and its not broken down once! Seriously though, i'm new to Vauxhall's too and i'm impressed with it. I drove to Newcastle and back today (550 miles) and averaged 47mpg according to the digital display. Last week I drove to Rugby and back (370 miles) and averaged 56 mpg. Mine is a 4x4.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds impressive. What are the noise levels like on the motorway. My wife has aVW Polo bluemotion 3 cyl so we are used to a bit of noise.

·
Registered
59 Posts
warrenc - i live in rugby, glad i didn't see your Mokka or i'd of been even more green with envy lol i've not yet seen one otr

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
I've not seen one on the road. Only seen one on a service station forecourt.
Surprising really when you consider how frugal they are on fuel.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Hi hot mokka,

This is my third vauxhall having previously owned two Zafiras.
The 1st was a 2.0ltr CDTi - t'was a good runner although I started to suffer problems with the engine losing power whem motorway driving so decided to change it.
The 2nd was a 1.9ltr SRi diesel - a big improvement over the previous model with the added benefit of the sports button (tho too tight to use it often). I did notice a change in engine noise when the Zafira was cleaning the diesel particle filter (initially thought there was something seriously wrong but later realised t'was the filter cleaning process).